Canadian Large-Load Power Cost Monitor · Preview

What power actually costs a large load in Canadian

2 Canadian markets currently carry a delivered-cost band that can be compared like for like. 7 do not, and each says why.

Every band is the recurring delivered cost for the same standard case: a 100 MW continuous, high-load-factor load, in US dollars per megawatt hour, excluding customer-funded connection capital and refundable taxes.

This is a monitor, not an index. Nothing is aggregated across markets. Each row is one market's own band on its own evidence. Calling it an index would imply a composite value and a versioned aggregation method, neither of which exists. The name changes when they do. There is no national Canadian figure here, and there will not be one until a defensible aggregation method exists. Provincial delivered costs are set by different utilities under different regulators; averaging them would produce a number that describes nowhere.

Eligible markets

Each market's own band, on its own evidence. Nothing here is averaged or ranked against anything else; the bar shows where each band sits within the range of the others.

Delivered cost bands in US dollars per megawatt hour for eligible markets, with the evidence state behind each.
MarketLow MidHigh Range within the cohort Evidence
Alberta $60 $80 $110
Applicable, evidence incomplete
Ontario $55 $78 $100
Applicable, evidence incomplete

Excluded markets, and what each is missing

A market is out because its evidence does not yet support a like-for-like comparison, not because it is expensive or cheap. Structural means no amount of work here changes it. Temporary means evidence we have not finished gathering.

Canadian markets excluded from the comparison, with the reason, the missing evidence and the next action for each.
MarketExclusion Status and missing evidenceNext action
British Columbia temporary Applicable, evidence incomplete
  • no delivered-cost basis is stated
  • no published band
  • no connection-voltage or serving-utility assumption is declared
  • not stated in USD per MWh
Finish the per-line provenance. No new access or negotiation is required.
Manitoba temporary Applicable, evidence incomplete
  • no delivered-cost basis is stated
  • no published band
  • no connection-voltage or serving-utility assumption is declared
  • not stated in USD per MWh
Finish the per-line provenance. No new access or negotiation is required.
New Brunswick temporary Applicable, evidence incomplete
  • no delivered-cost basis is stated
  • no published band
  • no connection-voltage or serving-utility assumption is declared
  • not stated in USD per MWh
Finish the per-line provenance. No new access or negotiation is required.
Newfoundland & Labrador temporary Applicable, evidence incomplete
  • no delivered-cost basis is stated
  • no published band
  • no connection-voltage or serving-utility assumption is declared
  • not stated in USD per MWh
Finish the per-line provenance. No new access or negotiation is required.
Nova Scotia temporary Applicable, evidence incomplete
  • no delivered-cost basis is stated
  • no published band
  • no connection-voltage or serving-utility assumption is declared
  • not stated in USD per MWh
Finish the per-line provenance. No new access or negotiation is required.
Quebec temporary Applicable, evidence incomplete
  • the cost read is under review: The Cost pillar (currently 100) is placed under review
Finish the per-line provenance. No new access or negotiation is required.
Saskatchewan temporary Applicable, evidence incomplete
  • no delivered-cost basis is stated
  • no published band
  • no connection-voltage or serving-utility assumption is declared
  • not stated in USD per MWh
Finish the per-line provenance. No new access or negotiation is required.

0 structural, 7 temporary, out of 9 markets assessed.

How a market gets in

Membership is derived from the evidence every time this page is built. There is no list of preferred markets: a market whose band is withdrawn leaves the comparison on the next build, without anyone deciding.

All eight must hold

The delivered-cost boundary is complete and stated; the standard archetype applies at this scope; the band is current and not under correction; connection-voltage or serving utility assumptions are declared; nothing is withdrawn; the price is not specific to one customer's negotiated terms; no regulatory decision is pending that would invalidate the comparison; and units, currency and method are comparable.

What is not done

It does not compute a composite. It does not rank markets by anything other than their own published bands. It does not fill a missing bound, infer a mid-point, or convert a currency. And it holds no list of preferred markets: remove every market from pgiq-data.json and this module returns an empty monitor rather than an error.

Publication rule

Publish with the eligible set that exists. Do not wait for a target count and do not admit an unsupported market to reach one. An empty eligible set is a publishable result: it says the evidence is not there yet, which is true and useful.

Take the data

The same evidence behind every band, per market.

Cost evidence

Compiled recurring-cost bands and their per-line provenance.

GET /api/v1/markets

Browse the compiled evidence →

Screening

Filter the cohort by cost, tier, connection time and group.

GET /api/v1/screen?group=canada

API & MCP →

Spreadsheet

Every market in the cohort, eligible or not, with its bands, failing conditions and next action.

Generated us-monitor-eligibility-1.0 · Full methodology · Cost & connection data